Boat Race 2018 crews announced

The crews for the 2018 Cancer Research UK Boat Race have been announced, featuring several Great Britain international rowers


The crews for the 2018 Boat Race (Photo by Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images,)

The crews for the 2018 Cancer Research UK Boat Race have been announced at City Hall, London.

Oxford and Cambridge took home one win apiece from the Tideway races in 2017, with the women’s race won by the Cambridge and the men’s by Oxford.

Several competitors across the four boats raced for Great Britain in 2017, with Felix Drinkall (Oxford) winning gold in the men’s four at the World Rowing Junior Championships in Trakai.

Rob Hurn (Cambridge) took silver in the four at the World Rowing U23 Championships, while Freddie Davidson, Imogen Grant and Thea Zabell (all Cambridge) also reached A finals in Plovdiv. Olivia Coffey in the Cambridge stroke seat, won World Rowing Championships gold for the USA in 2015, racing in the women’s quad.

>>> A guide to the 2018 Boat Race

Cambridge weighed in as the heavier men’s crew by 32kg, thanks in part to the presence of James Letten in the four seat, who tipped the scales at 106.5kg. The Light Blues also outweighed their Oxford counterparts in the women’s race.

Oxford have won four of the last five men’s races, including last year’s triumph by one-and-a-quarter lengths. Cambridge’s women took their first Boat Race win on the Tideway, overturning 2016’s defeat to win by a full 11 lengths – only their second win in the last 10 meetings.

Men’s Blue Boat crews

Bow: Iain Mandale
2: Felix Drinkall
3: Will Cahill
4: Anders Weiss
5: Will Geffen
6: Josh Bugajski
7: Claas Mertens
Stroke: Vassilis Ragoussis
Cox: Zachary Thomas Johnson

Bow: Patrick Elwood
2: Charles Fisher
3: Dara Alizadeh
4: James Letten
5: Spencer Furey
6: Finn Meeks
7: Rob Hurn
Stroke: Freddie Davidson
Cox: Hugo Ramambason

Women’s Blue Boat crews

Bow: Renee Koolschijn
2: Katherine Erickson
3: Juliette Perry
4: Alice Roberts
5: Morgan McGovern
6: Sarah Kushma
7: Abigail Killen
Stroke: Beth Bridgman
Cox: Jessica Buck

Bow: Tricia Smith
2: Imogen Grant
3: Kelsey Barolak
4: Thea Zabell
5: Paula Wesselmann
6: Alice White
7: Myriam Goudet-Boukhatmi
Stroke: Olivia Coffey
Cox: Sophie Shapter