Olympic and Paralympic champions recognised in New Year honours list

Pete Reed and Andrew T Hodge are appointed OBEs, while first-time Olympic and Paralympic medallists are appointed MBEs


The men's eight from the Rio 2016 Olympic Games

Triple Olympic champions Pete Reed and Andrew T Hodge will be appointed OBEs in the New Year honours list alongside a host of other British rowers.

The pair were previously made MBEs after their first gold medal in Beijing, with first-time Olympic and Paralympic gold medallists from Rio 2016, such as Moe Sbihi and Lauren Rowles, to be recognised in the same way in 2017. Katherine Grainger is to be awarded a Damehood to mark her contribution to sport and charity.

All of the members of the men’s eight, which included Reed and Hodge and cox Phelan Hill, were honoured as were Sbihi, George Nash and Constantine Louloudis from the Olympic squad.

Paralympic gold medallists Rowles, Grace Clough, James Fox, Oliver James, Daniel Brown, Laurence Whiteley and Rachel Morris were also appointed MBEs.

Reed said: “There are many wonderful deeds, roles, achievements and contributions to notable organisations by the most deserving individuals being honoured by Her Majesty The Queen. I really am so proud to represent the Royal Navy and our amazing sport of rowing amongst these national treasures. Thank you all for your support. I have had a blast simply doing the best job I ever had.”

British Rowing’s performance director, Sir David Tanner CBE, said: “It is fantastic to see our Olympic and Paralympic champions recognised for their achievements. Their performances in Rio to help to place Great Britain as the top rowing nation at both Games were the culmination of four years’ exceptional dedication and hard work by our rowers, coaches and team support at our Caversham training base.

“Pete and Andy have joined an elite list of three-time Olympic champions in rowing and it is excellent to see their dedication to the sport and the team recognised in this way.”

British Rowing CEO Andy Parkinson said: “It has been a golden year for British rowing and we are delighted to have so many of our athletes recognised in the New Year honours.

“The Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games saw some remarkable performances from British rowers, but these honours also represent the hard work put in by the athletes, coaches and support staff throughout the whole of 2016.

“They all make great sacrifices in order to represent Great Britain on the global stage, which is appreciated by all involved in the sport.”

Two members of the rowing community in Northern Ireland were also appointed MBEs, with Robert Northridge recognised for his services to rowing and community relations and Terrence Monroe for his voluntary services to sculling and rowing in Belfast.

Rowers honoured

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire
Katherine Grainger

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)
Pete Reed
Andrew T Hodge

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)
Paul Bennett
Daniel Brown
Grace Clough
Scott Durant
James Fox
Matt Gotrel
Phelan Hill
Oliver James
Matthew Langridge
Constantine Louloudis
Rachel Morris
George Nash
Tom Ransley
Lauren Rowles
Will Satch
Moe Sbihi
Laurence Whiteley