GB Universities Team takes U23 medals and experience to Rotterdam

GB’s 50-strong team of university rowers has departed for the European Universities Games today. The composite team drawn from nine Universities includes two rowers who won silver medals at the weekend’s World U23 Rowing Championships and a handful of others who made ‘A finals’.

Wilf Kimberley (pictured) raced in the lightweight men’s pair in Varese, winning a silver medal after a fantastically close race. He will race as part of the lightweight men’s four representing Imperial College at the EUSA Games where they hope to repeat their gold medal from 2013.

The U23 Women’s Eight matched their silver medal from 2013. The crew included Nicole Lamb who will represent Newcastle University in Rotterdam racing in both the Women’s eight and the Women’s pair alongside Emily Ford. Newcastle won a solid gold at the 2013 EUSA Rowing Championships in Poznan and will be looking to hold onto this title.

GB Universities Team Manager, James Lee said “The results of our team who raced in ‘A’ finals at the World U23 Championships shows the strength of the team this year. Many congratulations to them and the rest of the team. I’m looking forward to some equally exciting racing in Rotterdam”.

The team has seen a change in the Women’s single and Helen Roberts (Cardiff) has joined the team following Katie Bartlett’s U23 call-up.

Karl Offord has been appointed as Assistant Team Manager in the lead-up to the Games and will work with the Team Manager and Coaches to support the crews whilst in Rotterdam.

Full details of the European University Games can be seen at

Progress of the GB Universities Team can be followed via Twitter @GBUniversities.

GB Universities

Cardiff University
Robbie Massey, Sam Whittaker, Helen Roberts

Durham University
Amelia Carlton, Becky Dell, Katie Denham, Charlotte Drury

University of East London
Stuart Heap

Imperial College, London
Romain Barnoud, Lily Beadle, Fabien Evrard, Myles Holbrough, Paul Jones, Wilf Kimberley, Harry Mayne, Isabelle von Loga

University of London
Rory Bufacchi, Jamie Cook

Loughborough University
Louise Hart

Newcastle University
Sam Arnot, Katherine Bulmer, Tom Ford, Emily Ford, Gemma Hall, Natalie Hardy, Grace Hockenhull, Jasper Holst, Nicole Lamb, Calum McRoberts, Ed Munno, Helen O’Riordan, Florian Reinecke, James Rudkin, Rosie Rust, Barnaby Stroud-Turp, Emma Ward, Samuel Wilson

Oxford University
Elena Backhouse, Rebecca Lane, Sophie Philbrick, Sarah Robinson

University of Reading
Lucy Cruxton, Courtney Edmonds, Stewart Innes, Andy Joel, Rob Johnston, Jess Lewis, Dominic Tope, Sam Twine, Bethan Walters

Management Team & Coaches
James Lee – Team Manager
Karl Offord – Assistant Team Manager

Fiona Rennie – Admin Support

Ian Shore – Cardiff
Cameron Kennedy – Durham
Josh Butler – Imperial
Chris George – London
Jesse Burgoine – Newcastle
Chris O’Hara – Oxford
Sean Casey – Reading