Star celebrates Head of the River success

Star Club celebrated a significant victory on March 17th, winning the Jackson Trophy at the Head of the River Race for the second consecutive year.

The Jackson Trophy honours the fastest provincial* club at the race, and Star are now the second most successful club in its history with six wins.


Star’s crew of Chris Callow, Chris Bland, Michael Ewing, Callum Beasley, Leon Taylor, Dave Kempsell, Alex Miller, Will Eason, and cox Hugo Moon finished 24th fastest out of more than 400 entries – two places better than in 2011.

Their time of 18 minutes and 32.84 seconds was close to a minute behind this year’s runaway overall leaders from the Czech Rowing Federation (Czech Republic), but eight seconds clear of the next fastest provincial crew, from Nottingham Rowing Club.

To find out more about Star Club, which is based on the banks of the River Great Ouse in Bedford, visit

*excluding university, college and school crews, and crews normally rowing on the Thames and its tributaries.

Without our members, we wouldn't be able to provide the guidance, support and emergency funding that we have been able to during the COVID-19 pandemic. Please consider continuing to support our sport by renewing or purchasing your British Rowing membership today.

Renew Today

Support your Sport

Buy replica kit today

Show your support for the GB Rowing Team with our range of Mizuno GB Rowing Replica Kit

Shop Now